August 22, 2016

Empire of Storms THEORIES

 photo eostheories_zpswuirssug.jpg

Hello friends! I’ll be doing something I’ve never done before. There’s a first time for everything right? I love reading other people’s theories about books that still have to come out. I remember watching a video on theories for Clockwork Princess and just loving how much inspiration it gave me and how much discussion it created. With the release of Empire of Storms just a few weeks away, I want to discuss a few things I have been thinking about. These are my Empire of Storms theories (obviously there will be spoilers from the previous books):

1. Manon will change sides and join Aelin’s cause or Dorian’s (which is basically the same thing)
"As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world.” (source)

2. Dorian and Manon will meet face to face (this could mean ANYTHING although I’m not a Manorian shipper per sé)

3. I have a bad feeling about Aedion - I think he will die either in EoS or the last book

4. Ansel will come back - I don’t know who’s side she’ll be on though but I obviously hope it’s Aelin's
Sarah revealed in her April newsletter that "old characters return” so I feel like it’s gotta be Ansel. There’s more to tell about her.

5. I’m really unsure about Elide and whether or not she’ll get that Wyrdkey to Aelin.
I feel like it would be too good to be true that Aelin would have 2 keys. Although it would be a very very good thing. What I’m saying is that I don’t trust NO ONE with a Wyrdkey except for Aelin. I think Elide will meet people on her way to Terrasen to make it more complicated for her to get there. Also: she thinks she needs to give it to Celaena Sardothien but she won’t find that person in Terrasen...

6. Sarah said that "the scope of the world expands” so I’m assuming we’ll finally get a glimpse of the Southern Continent? 
Meaning Chaol will go to the Torre Cesme and instead of just healing, he’ll get tangled up in whatever is going on over there. Typical Chaol. Maybe he’ll get them to fight for Aelin’s cause.

7. I feel like Gavriel might make an appearance

8. Kaltain had magic. Elide is apparantly SOMETHING. The two looked like they could be sisters. Okay so OBVIOUSLY something’s going on here I just don’t know what.
Did Marion have a sister that married a Rompier and had a child named Kaltain? That would make Elide and Kaltain cousins.

9. Not entirely a theorie about EoS but… The next book will have Reign in the title. 
I just have this feeling.


What are your theories? Any crazy ones?

August 15, 2016

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

Nowhere But Here book review

Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarryTitle: Nowhere But Here
Author: Katie McGarry
Series: Thunder Road #1
Genre: contemporary, young adult
Release: May 2015

An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a place you never imagined possible.
Seventeen-year-old Emily likes her life the way it is: doting parents, good friends, good school in a safe neighborhood. Sure, she's curious about her biological father—the one who chose life in a motorcycle club, the Reign of Terror, over being a parent—but that doesn't mean she wants to be a part of his world. But when a reluctant visit turns to an extended summer vacation among relatives she never knew she had, one thing becomes clear: nothing is what it seems. Not the club, not her secret-keeping father and not Oz, a guy with suck-me-in blue eyes who can help her understand them both.
Oz wants one thing: to join the Reign of Terror. They're the good guys. They protect people. They're…family. And while Emily—the gorgeous and sheltered daughter of the club's most respected member—is in town, he's gonna prove it to her. So when her father asks him to keep her safe from a rival club with a score to settle, Oz knows it's his shot at his dream. What he doesn't count on is that Emily just might turn that dream upside down.
No one wants them to be together. But sometimes the right person is the one you least expect, and the road you fear the most is the one that leads you home.

3 star-rating
My thoughts on this book are kind of all over the place. There are things that I liked, there are other things that I didn’t like as much. It’s didn’t quite fulfil my craving for a good summer contemporary. This is also my first McGarry book and I have read lots of positive feedback on her other books. The expectations might have been high, though the fact that this series is about a motorcycle club did make me hesitate. Nowhere But Here tries to break through stereotypes surrounding motorcycle clubs though.

The romance was greatly written. I love how Katie McGarry has you rooting for the main characters from the start. I wasn’t that invested in the characters though. I didn’t like Oz per sé and Emily didn’t stand out to me either. None of the characters I really liked. I’m not saying they weren’t nice people though. I just didn’t feel connected to any of them. Oz, along with the other guys his age in this book, are portrayed as ‘bad boys’ and ‘guys that don’t fall for good girls’ - in other words: clichés. I’m not too big a fan of the bad boy cliché. After reading quite a few books with bad boys in it, the kind that goes all soft for some 'special girl’, you kind of grow tired of it.

Signed Nowhere But HereI also got kind of annoyed by the way these characters talked. These characters are 17, which is starting to feel like a lifetime ago and it’s getting hard relating to characters that age BUT I do know how 17-year-olds talk. Here’s the thing: in every conversation someone has to say something like “like I told you before”/“as I said”/“it’s like I said before”. What teenager talks like that?! It happened so many times that it got on my nerves. This is something minor though. I also think this is just me. I just want 17-year-olds to talk like 17-year-olds and not old ladies.

The thing that bothered me the most is the drama though. SO. MUCH. DRAMA. It felt like I was reading a contemporary set in a high school with hormonal teenagers sometimes, that’s how dramatic it got. Emily is basically living a lie. Her mom lied to her about her biological father and his family AND about hers (this isn’t a spoiler). There are so many lies about this family that it had me rolling my eyes. If certain characters just told the truth for the start, there wouldn’t have been so much going on and certain events would not have taken place. The going back and forth just annoyed me so much. I imagined myself in Emily’s place quite a few times and I know I would have exploded about 20 times because of the lying. ALL THE LIES. I just wanted her to get mad for once.

So, obviously family is an important aspect of this book. I like that - it doesn’t have to solely be about 2 people falling in love. There’s a big cast of characters. I’m not that interested in Razor’s story (Walk the Edge, book #2) since he’s described as the baddest boy of the bad-boy-club and I’m just not down for that. I would like to know what happens with Chevy and Violet but I’m not sure if I’ll pick up the book. I guess we’ll see if I want to give this series another try next year. For now I’ve had enough of the drama on Thunder Road.


Have you read Nowhere But Here? What are your thoughts on the book?

August 8, 2016

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling and co.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child cover

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition Script)
Authors: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Published: July 2016

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.
Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

This is probably the most anticipated book of the entire world and I too, was mildly excited but only mildly because I had a few concerns about this eighth story. Was I going to like it? What if I didn’t? What if it’s not what I want it to be? What if it changes my entire opinion of the series? What if it ruins EVERYTHING? The stakes were quite high for this book tbh. I’m sure I wasn’t the only one asking myself these questions. Well, I have read the book - I mean script - now and I feel like I am ready to share my thoughts with the world.

While I always got that warm and fuzzy feeling inside, the feeling of coming home, every time I started a Harry Potter book - I didn’t feel that way at all with this one. This isn’t J.K. Rowlings work like we’re used to. How much of a say did she have in this anyway? Cursed Child is a script. This means there’s only dialogue and a little bit of a backstory in between. No grand descriptions of the castle or what’s for dinner. We knew from the beginning it was only the script and not 'the real deal’ but that didn’t faze me until I opened up the book. Color me disappointed (if only a little bit).

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Script
Because this isn’t a novel like all the others - it’s not gonna read like the others. There’s a completely different atmosphere, it’s a completely new experience. The story didn’t move me until after about 150 pages in. I couldn’t identify with the characters like I used to and I felt like there was a lot of drama going on that I didn’t understand. Things start happening after a while and I’m mildly enjoying it at this point. I did have the feeling that scenes were recycled from one of the seven original books. That was a bummer. I mean if you’re looking for an original, unique story - Cursed Child won’t exactly give you that. Also, some things were very poorly (or not at all) explained leaving me with a lot of questions. I feel like there was no smooth transition between scenes but I’m going to blame it on the fact that I read a script and not an actual novel. In the play itself this is probably no issue.

The cast is small compared to the amount of characters we read about in the original 7 books. The cast is actually very, very small with only a few minor characters added into the mix. I had great difficulty getting into the character that’s Draco Malfoy. In Cursed Child it’s like he’s a completely different person and I just couldn’t see him as Draco. He was just some other, faceless character to me. With the new characters I didn’t have the issue of not recognising them anymore, because they are new. I loved Scorpius in this book SO MUCH though.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child bookstagram photoHarry Potter and the Cursed Child was a let down to me. I was so excited but it didn’t live up to my (high?) expectations at all. I mean the story is okay but I’m not considering this canon - no way! The main reason why I’m thrown off by this book is that one plot twist that’s revealed near the end. I was thinking all sorts of shit but mainly: what the actual fuck?! And: HELL NO. I don’t want this to be part of the story, I just can’t. And you can think whatever thoughts you want but I’m just going to try really hard and forget this happened, that this exists and carry on living my potterhead life like I was doing before this story saw the light of day.

I never saw the point to a Harry Potter play. Yes, I was an emotional wreck after the last book was published and an ever bigger mess when the last film came out and everything came to an end. But that was it, you know. The story was told, the end.

If you’re thinking about reading it, I’d say feel free to do so. Just don’t expect to ‘come home’ to Hogwarts and don’t expect to be sucked into the story either. I wasn’t swept away and I am kind of regretting reading it. Am I going to read it again? Probably not. I very much want to forget all about it to be honest. Did it change my vision on the other books? Hopefully not. I wish ‘unreading’ was a thing.

It was really hard to write this review of sorts without spoiling things, even if they’re just details but I’m all for #keepthesecrets so I’m keeping my mouth shut. However, if anyone feels like discussing the plot DM me on Twitter or Instagram. I’d be happy to talk about this book!



Have you read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Have you seen the play? What did you think of it? Are we on the same page or do you have a completely different opinion? Let's talk!

August 1, 2016

July 2016 Wrap up

July 2016 Wrap up @ Potterhead Reviews

Personal

July consisted mostly of doing school related work, having a summer job and trying to get a tan. I have resits next month and I’ve been trying to prepare for them as much as I can. When it was nice out, I tried to enjoy it as much as I could. I’m not the type of person to go outside much but it’s been years since I’ve gotten a tan and I just wanted to get as much as I could. I wouldn’t call myself ‘tan’ but I’m not white as a ghost anymore.

Reading, planning and bloggingI also bought some stuff online that I had my eye on for a bit. I started my shopping spree over on Redbubble because they have the dopest fan art. It’s literally heaven for fangirls like you and me. Anyway, I bought a sticker for my laptop inspired by Luna Lovegood and an art print of my favourite person Ronan Lynch. The packaging of Redbubble products is really on point in my opinion. The envelope the sticker came in was of really sturdy cardboard and the art print came in a tube of hard cardboard. I’ve got no complaints whatsoever and look forward to shopping there again. I’m also really pleased with the quality of the products and what this all cost me. Compared to Society6, it’s much cheaper (including shipping rates to Europe) so I would recommend Redbubble over Society6 anytime.

Harry Potter planner stickers, work and food
Later on in the month I got a little carried away when I saw a planning video featuring Harry Potter stickers so I immediately bought that and made the last week of July all Harry Potter themed in my planner. I’m literally obsessed with the spread of that week because it got me extra excited about the book release on July 31st. Besides those stickers I also ordered some on Etsy earlier on in the month. Shipping is crazy expensive on Etsy if you’re ordering from the USA. My limit is €7 on stickers. It weighs basically nothing so I don’t understand how the shipping rates are so high. I quickly found out that shipping from Australia is really affordable so I buy stuff from there. I got some planner stickers from Peaceful Mind Design and the shipping was €2.

Besides online shopping and planning with cute new stickers, there wasn't anything exciting going on during the month of July. I wasn't as motivated to study as I was last year but I'm hoping to find the motivation I'll need soon enough. My new 'study' stickers should get me started.

 photo Foto 13-07-16 16 50 11_zpstnu7ne5u.jpg

For you to read...

The Rose and The Dagger by Renée Ahdieh // book review
Why I use Sidereel to track TV shows
Underwater by Marisa Reichardt // book review
8 ways to spice up your bullet journal (Via Loony Literate)
Bullet journal 101: everything you need to know (via Creative Pineapple)
Ten YA books that should be in your beach bag (via Perpetual Page-turner)


TV // movies // music

For this month I've only got music recommendations:


How was July? Read a lot of books? Did you go on holiday? Let's talk!

July 25, 2016

Underwater by Marisa Reichardt

 photo underwaterreview_zpspkhh4mfu.jpg

Underwater by Marisa ReichardtTitle: Underwater
Author: Marisa Reichardt
Genre: contemporary
Published: January 2016

“Forgiving you will allow me to forgive myself.”
Morgan didn’t mean to do anything wrong that day. Actually, she meant to do something right. But her kind act inadvertently played a role in a deadly tragedy. In order to move on, Morgan must learn to forgive—first someone who did something that might be unforgivable, and then herself.
But Morgan can’t move on. She can’t even move beyond the front door of the apartment she shares with her mother and little brother. Morgan feels like she’s underwater, unable to surface. Unable to see her friends. Unable to go to school.
When it seems Morgan can’t hold her breath any longer, a new boy moves in next door. Evan reminds her of the salty ocean air and the rush she used to get from swimming. He might be just what she needs to help her reconnect with the world outside.
Underwater was one of the books I received through the giveaway that was hosted during the Love-a-Thon. Initially I wasn’t too excited about this book but that was only because the cover is just not attractive AT ALL. The other edition of this book, with the girl in the bikini, is much better in my opinion. The synopsis is what convinced me to start reading this book.

4 star rating
Right off the bat I was sucked into the story because there’s a lot mystery regarding the fact that the MC does not leave her house, like ever. Also: there's a cute new neighbour involved, who introduces himself very early on in this book. There isn’t that big of a cast in this book but I also didn’t feel like that was necessary. It’s about a girl who doesn’t leave her house so obviously she wouldn’t meet a lot of people. The only way she met someone new was because he came knocking on her door. I thought the romance in this book was cute but it happened fast. It wasn’t instalove - THANK YOU LORD - but the characters didn’t have that much interaction before they got together. I didn’t like Evan all that much though. I don’t know - he got mad at Morgan for no fucking reason and then he kind of lost my interest.

Now, obviously there’s a reason why Morgan can’t leave her house and it’s called PTSD. I think this was my first book to have PTSD as a big aspect of the story, along with psychotherapy. While I feel like the mental illness was portrayed in the right, appropriate way (by which I mean that it wasn’t seen as something that should be hidden), I did have my doubts about the therapy. Sometimes I thought it was accurate but other times I thought it wasn’t realistic at all.

While I wasn’t too big of a fan about a few things in this book, I still enjoyed it a lot. It really deserves a 4 star rating in my opinion. Underwater was a fast and summery contemporary, perfect for this time of year. It’s a thin book, so you’ll fly through it in no time. I’d definitely recommend it as a pool/beach read. It’s about real problems, not typical high school drama, which is refreshing. Don’t be fooled by the cover - just pick it up and read it.


Have you read Underwater? What were your thoughts?